Coombe Mill Family Farm Holiday Reviews

 
We are pleased to have been awarded TripAdvisor’s Certificate of Excellence for 2014  – 2017  you can read what people have said about us by clicking on the badge above.
Below are the Coombe Mill Farm Holidays Reviews sent into us directly from holiday guests who have appreciated their stay and have kindly thought to say so.​
Name & Date Star Review Review Received Through

Rosie Dawson

12/03/18

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ We have had 5 holidays at Coombe Mill Farm now and it never disappoints no matter what the weather is doing, our daughter loves it and her confidence soars each day. Perfect break ? Facebook

Sarah Windle

12/11/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  A wonderful break away. Well equipped house. Comfy beds. We all enjoyed feeding the animals on the Saturday morning. The setting is peaceful and beautiful. Even though it’s very local to where we live it felt like a million miles away. Fiona and Nick are excellent hosts. Thank you!! We will be back – especially as the Hot Tub was a great success  Facebook

Jo Diamond

17/10/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  I’m sorry for the late review-we stayed here in April 2003! We came our two boys aged 1 and 2 and I was pregnant with #3 -we had a fantastic time and loved the peace and tranquility -the owner has triplets the week we were there so I could tell it was child friendly! We had some meals from the honesty box freezer and they were to notch-we hope to come again very soon with our brood of 5 soon Happy Memories of this place ? Facebook

Lee Cox

09/10/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  Love this place, my Son had a great time. Facebook

Rozina Hetherington

05/10/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 

I Totally forgot to do my review for our stay at coombe Mill in May.
It was totally amazing! we weren’t your average Coombe Mill family, we had me aged 25, my parents and my grandparents (no children) my brother and his partner also came for a few days.
We chose Coombe Mill because my grandparents both have dementia and my grandma has out Alzheimers as well. Grandma is obsessed with animals and we thought the setting would be lovely for her to just have a break from normal life. Life on the farm is so peaceful as the lodges & cottages are set well away from the actual farm, we were however able to see the alpacas from our window. We enjoyed the feed run on a few occasions during our stay but mostly just pottered around in our own time looking at the animals trees and anything else we could find.

Coombe Mill worked well for me as well, I use an electric wheelchair and require hoisting, the downstairs rooms in the lodge we stayed in were all accessible for my wheelchair (the bathroom was tight squeeze but we managed) on the farm we also coped well. I knew before going to Coombe Mill that it is set on a huge hill and that being out in the countryside there would be bits that were difficult for me to access, however I found that I could access most of the farm. (My Wheelchair and I are used to going off Roding which was essential we get around the farm side of Coombe Mill)

We had a great time mostly but we did have are use the minor injuries unit once as I had an infection. Grandpa also had an accident requiring an ambulance and I have to say Fiona and Nick were fabulous. Fiona stayed up till well past midnight waiting for the ambulance and direct them to our lodge, thankfully we didn’t have to go to hospital. Fiona and Nick kept an eye on us over the next few days making sure we were all okay.
Minor injuries unit is easy to find and very helpful, it’s definitely worth checking where it is whilst planning your trip.
It is also important to know that due to the location they can take a while getting to the farm.

I would 100% recommend Coombe Mill for any kind of family, although they are kitted out children and young families there is attraction for all ages on the farm and in the places to visit nearby. It’s a beautiful setting and very peaceful place to be.

Facebook

Hannah Halls

24/09/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 

Just got back from 4 nights at Coombe Mill and we had a great time. It was great to see out two year olds confidence with the animals grow over the week. She loved driving the tractor with Farmer Amber and the craft session with Farmer Fiona on Friday afternoon was perfectly aimed at the age range of the children that were at Coombe Mill this week. 

We stayed in the Pencarrow Lodge with my mum, brother, 2yr old and 3 month old and it was a lovely lodge with everything we needed kitchen wise including kids cups, plates and cutlery which was a welcome surprise.

Pencarrow Lodge is right next to the play area and mud kitchen and my daughter was so excited and kept going on the decking asking to go to the mud kitchen which was under cover so perfect for the rainy afternoons we had.

Highly reccommend.

Facebook

Emma Gaba

04/09/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  We loved out stay at Coombe Mill and miss everyone! Hope to see you all again soon with our new addition… Baby Ruby! Love always, The Tucker Family! Facebook

Gail Padfield 

20/08/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  Best relaxing holiday I’ve had, in a peaceful and beautiful location, lovely walks and all the animals to see, very spacious accommodation. Grand children loved it especially the cannon, feeding the animals and the diggers in the sandpit. I would highly recommend Coombe Mill Farm.  Facebook

Jessica Lucy Bond

14/08/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  Just got back from a week here with my 3 year old and 1 year old they both loved every second and so did we. Such a lovely place. Can’t wait to visit again! Facebook

Karen Eccles

13/08/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  The best family holiday ever! Not busy and congested like most places in the school holidays yet plenty to do both onsite and out and about to keep everyone happy. Facebook

Bernadette Bird

12/08/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  This was our third time with our two girls. They are six and eight, and they loved the animal feed run every morning with Farmer Nick. They were mad for cuddles with all the cute bunnies. 
Activity hour run by Fiona this week was fabulous – picking blackberries then making tie dye art with their dye, and finally making delicious blackberry muffins.
Facebook

Samantha Harries

22/07/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  We’ve just returned home after spending a week on the farm for the second year running and loved it once again even with the bad weather! Our 6 and 4 year olds love the daily feed with Farmer Nick and Farmer Amber and spending their time visiting the animals throughout the day. This is a magical place where children and families really are at the heart of everything. Thank you. The Harries Family Facebook

Carolyn Spratling

11/07/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  If you have young children who like animals, tractors,trains and the outside then this is the place for you. Loads of grounds to run around in and so much to do from helping to feed the animals in the morning to riding the train in the evening. There are in door and outdoor play areas as well as a weekly craft hour. The accommodation includes everything required for a self catering holiday. The location of the farm is great for visiting all the Cornish attractions and it is about 20 mins drive from a lovely sandy family beach. We hadn’t even got to the end of our holiday before rebooking again for next year – something we have never done. Facebook

Rachel Harris

08/07/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  We’ve now been twice and have already booked for next year. This is the perfect place for preschoolers. Farm feed, animals of all shapes and sizes, miniature train rides, trampoline, fairy garden, mud kitchen, multiple play areas, craft hour, den building, soft play, fresh farm eggs, nature trail, welly walk, tractor rides, pirate ship, zip wire, ride ons, play house, and of course a great local pub! But also really friendly and welcoming family who run this place make it really special and somewhere lasting memories are made. Facebook

Zoe Balfe Morris

03/07/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  If you like a peaceful holiday in beautiful surroundings away from the hustle and bustle but still plenty to occupy the kids, then this is the place for you. We spent a week here in June with 2 toddlers and despite some challenging weather (pretty much rained the whole week) we had a wonderful time. We stayed in the new Polzeath Lodge which with its own huge playroom with small soft play was perfect for our 3 yr olds. The playroom is a real feature of this property and also hosts a reading snug in 1 corner. The soft play is ideal for age 3 and under and the rest of the playroom great for kids of all ages. There is a larger soft play on site which was also popular with our girls as well as the play areas and trampoline which they loved. What was also great about Coombe Mill other than the group animal feeding each morning was the ability to explore the area and feed many of the animals at our own pace and the girls loved going on an ‘adventure’ each day as they called it. Highly recommended. Facebook

Nicholas Chainey

26/06/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Had a wonderful time. Wonderful, friendly staff and a lovely site. Our little girl had the time of her life. The hidden paddling was an absolute delight on a couple of the boiling hot days! Facebook

Amanda Roe

24/06/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We spent 4 amazing summer breaks at Coombe Mill, the children absolutely loved it and so did we, they have the right mix of family time farm time, fun time and down time. The morning feed runs are the highlight! Facebook

Tash Coleman

24/06/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Just arrived back from a week at this amazing place. The owners and staff are so welcoming and friendly, the accommodation is immaculate, the facilities are fantastic and the kids loved it. Didn’t want to leave. Thank you for a perfect week’s stay. We won’t hesitate to come back again. Highly recommend. Facebook

Julie Vertessey

28/05/17

N/A

Thanks again for a fabulous week. Polzeath is amazing and I am so glad we got to stay there. The playroom especially is wonderful. The children couldn’t have had a better holiday!

Hopefully we will be back next year, just need to work out when will be the best time for us as Grace starts school in September

Email

Julie V

15/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We have visited Coombe Mill twice with our two pre-schoolers and we are looking forward to our next visit. Coombe Mill is simply magical! A beautiful setting with so much for little ones to do and explore. The daily feed run is wonderful and is always the highlight of our trip. The children love helping to drive the tractor, as well as feeding the animals and hunting for eggs. Our daughter loved the play areas, mud kitchen and fairy garden as well as the daily train ride and the activity hour on Friday. There are great beaches and lots of places to visit nearby too. Nick and Fiona are so welcoming and helpful. A perfect family holiday destination! Trip Advisor

Kristina Eyre

12/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
This is our 1st visit, we have loved every minute, Henry has made new friends. We gave something to do every day. Farmer Nick, Farmer Fiona and Farmer Amber are very friendly and helpful. The children can get as hands on as they like. There’s lots of space for them to run round, walks to do. The daily tractor and train rides have been a huge hit. We just need to decide when we come back next year. Facebook

Vanessa Hurley-Perera

06/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We welcomed the New Year in here a few years back and had such a wonderful stay. The house was great and the location is absolutely perfect for exploring both on the farm and surrounding areas. A really great family break and would love to return again sometime soon. Facebook

Aly Hodge

06/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We visited back in October 2015 for half term. Myself, my mum and my 3 kids enjoyed the spacious cottage we stayed in.We went on a few animal feed runs, which were really fun.The grounds boast many outdoor activities for the kids within the beautiful valley landscape. Facebook & Mumsnet

Rosemary Gatland

01/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We had a such a lovely time that we extended our stay. A beautiful relaxing place for adults and fantastic fun for little ones. Thomas loved feed run and train rides. He hasn’t stopped talking it his holiday home and we hope to return next year! Facebook

Matt Markall

21/04/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Couldn’t wish for more!! Thank you!! Fantastic place to spend your holidays!! Facebook

Karen Whitlock

15/04/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Our second holiday at Coombe Mill and once again it exceeded all expectations. Fiona and family are so welcoming. We stayed in a 4 bedroom lodge, Trebah, which was modern, clean and had everything we needed during our stay. The huge play room was very much appreciated. The daily feed runs were very popular with my girls and their confidence with the animals grew during the week. They loved helping feed the animals, searching for eggs and helping to drive the tractor. April was the perfect time to visit with 6 lambs being born during our stay. The daily train ride was very popular with my youngest. Both of them loved Activity Hour – so nice to have this free activity included in the week. Plenty of other things to do around the farm too – lovely play areas kept the kids occupied whilst my husband and I were able to chill out nearby. Plenty of other things to do close by too – Eden Project is only half an hour away. 
I would thoroughly recommend Coombe Mill to anyone with young children. We had such a fantastic time we have already booked for next year.
Facebook

Chloe Rowland

09/04/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We had a great week at Coombe Mill with our two little boys. It’s the perfect place for active kids who enjoy being outdoors and getting involved with feeding the farm animals. Definitely a holiday we would love to repeat. Facebook

Liz Collins

09/04/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Fantastic holiday destination, fun for all the family. Facebook

hngroen

26/03/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We just left Coombe Mill this morning (our third visit in as many years) and we’re already planning next year’s visit.
Both our girls (2 and 4) adore the place and, I must say, I feel the same way. The morning feed runs out on the tractor to feed the animals are fantastic and farmer Nick is a true joy and completely wonderful with the children; they were all desperate to “help” him drive the tractor (especially for the “fast bit” heading back to the car park at the end of the feed run).
The range of animals you see every morning is fantastic. How many places do you get to see pygmy goats, rare breed sheep, chickens, donkeys and fallow deer? Oh and let’s not forget the “noisy pigs” who make sure you don’t forget their breakfast in the morning.
There are plenty of other things to do on the farm too. I can’t recommend the wildlife trail highly enough. We decided to do this on the wettest, windiest day of the week and my littlest loved clambering up and down over the stiles and running around searching for the animals.
The play areas are fantastic too and it was a real struggle to get the children to leave the pirate ship and trampoline every time they got a chance to go and play down there (some days our 4 year old struggled to choose between the trampoline and the daily miniature train ride – which is definitely worth a visit with the littles).
For the last two visits we have stayed in Honeysuckle cottage and, at the risk of doing myself out of a holiday home, I would recommend it to anyone. The log burner is fantastic and so cosy on a chilly night, the super king size bed makes for ample stretching room and the two bathrooms means you rarely have to wait. (Pro tip: Make sure you commandeer the downstairs bathroom for yourself! The whirlpool bath is a thing of beauty and the pressure the shower kicks out will relax you after even the most active of days!)
Now, only 363 days until we get to go again … not that we’re counting or anything.
Mumsnet

Silviadep

29/01/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We have been three times (1 winter, 2 summer). Perfect place to go with children. Fiona and Nick are very friendly and charming. We have been in three different properties. The cottages have toys for children and they are cozy. Great playgrounds, animals and atmosphere. Tripadvisor