Coombe Mill Family Farm Holiday Reviews

 
We are pleased to have been awarded TripAdvisor’s Certificate of Excellence for 2014  – 2017  you can read what people have said about us by clicking on the badge above.
Below are the Coombe Mill Farm Holidays Reviews sent into us directly from holiday guests who have appreciated their stay and have kindly thought to say so.​
Name & Date Star Review Review Received Through

Jessica Lucy Bond

14/08/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  Just got back from a week here with my 3 year old and 1 year old they both loved every second and so did we. Such a lovely place. Can’t wait to visit again! Facebook

Karen Eccles

13/08/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  The best family holiday ever! Not busy and congested like most places in the school holidays yet plenty to do both onsite and out and about to keep everyone happy. Facebook

Bernadette Bird

12/08/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  This was our third time with our two girls. They are six and eight, and they loved the animal feed run every morning with Farmer Nick. They were mad for cuddles with all the cute bunnies. 
Activity hour run by Fiona this week was fabulous – picking blackberries then making tie dye art with their dye, and finally making delicious blackberry muffins.
Facebook

Samantha Harries

22/07/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  We’ve just returned home after spending a week on the farm for the second year running and loved it once again even with the bad weather! Our 6 and 4 year olds love the daily feed with Farmer Nick and Farmer Amber and spending their time visiting the animals throughout the day. This is a magical place where children and families really are at the heart of everything. Thank you. The Harries Family Facebook

Carolyn Spratling

11/07/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  If you have young children who like animals, tractors,trains and the outside then this is the place for you. Loads of grounds to run around in and so much to do from helping to feed the animals in the morning to riding the train in the evening. There are in door and outdoor play areas as well as a weekly craft hour. The accommodation includes everything required for a self catering holiday. The location of the farm is great for visiting all the Cornish attractions and it is about 20 mins drive from a lovely sandy family beach. We hadn’t even got to the end of our holiday before rebooking again for next year – something we have never done. Facebook

Rachel Harris

08/07/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  We’ve now been twice and have already booked for next year. This is the perfect place for preschoolers. Farm feed, animals of all shapes and sizes, miniature train rides, trampoline, fairy garden, mud kitchen, multiple play areas, craft hour, den building, soft play, fresh farm eggs, nature trail, welly walk, tractor rides, pirate ship, zip wire, ride ons, play house, and of course a great local pub! But also really friendly and welcoming family who run this place make it really special and somewhere lasting memories are made. Facebook

Zoe Balfe Morris

03/07/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  If you like a peaceful holiday in beautiful surroundings away from the hustle and bustle but still plenty to occupy the kids, then this is the place for you. We spent a week here in June with 2 toddlers and despite some challenging weather (pretty much rained the whole week) we had a wonderful time. We stayed in the new Polzeath Lodge which with its own huge playroom with small soft play was perfect for our 3 yr olds. The playroom is a real feature of this property and also hosts a reading snug in 1 corner. The soft play is ideal for age 3 and under and the rest of the playroom great for kids of all ages. There is a larger soft play on site which was also popular with our girls as well as the play areas and trampoline which they loved. What was also great about Coombe Mill other than the group animal feeding each morning was the ability to explore the area and feed many of the animals at our own pace and the girls loved going on an ‘adventure’ each day as they called it. Highly recommended. Facebook

Nicholas Chainey

26/06/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Had a wonderful time. Wonderful, friendly staff and a lovely site. Our little girl had the time of her life. The hidden paddling was an absolute delight on a couple of the boiling hot days! Facebook

Amanda Roe

24/06/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We spent 4 amazing summer breaks at Coombe Mill, the children absolutely loved it and so did we, they have the right mix of family time farm time, fun time and down time. The morning feed runs are the highlight! Facebook

Tash Coleman

24/06/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Just arrived back from a week at this amazing place. The owners and staff are so welcoming and friendly, the accommodation is immaculate, the facilities are fantastic and the kids loved it. Didn’t want to leave. Thank you for a perfect week’s stay. We won’t hesitate to come back again. Highly recommend. Facebook

Julie Vertessey

28/05/17

N/A

Thanks again for a fabulous week. Polzeath is amazing and I am so glad we got to stay there. The playroom especially is wonderful. The children couldn’t have had a better holiday!

Hopefully we will be back next year, just need to work out when will be the best time for us as Grace starts school in September

Email

Julie V

15/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We have visited Coombe Mill twice with our two pre-schoolers and we are looking forward to our next visit. Coombe Mill is simply magical! A beautiful setting with so much for little ones to do and explore. The daily feed run is wonderful and is always the highlight of our trip. The children love helping to drive the tractor, as well as feeding the animals and hunting for eggs. Our daughter loved the play areas, mud kitchen and fairy garden as well as the daily train ride and the activity hour on Friday. There are great beaches and lots of places to visit nearby too. Nick and Fiona are so welcoming and helpful. A perfect family holiday destination! Trip Advisor

Kristina Eyre

12/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
This is our 1st visit, we have loved every minute, Henry has made new friends. We gave something to do every day. Farmer Nick, Farmer Fiona and Farmer Amber are very friendly and helpful. The children can get as hands on as they like. There’s lots of space for them to run round, walks to do. The daily tractor and train rides have been a huge hit. We just need to decide when we come back next year. Facebook

Vanessa Hurley-Perera

06/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We welcomed the New Year in here a few years back and had such a wonderful stay. The house was great and the location is absolutely perfect for exploring both on the farm and surrounding areas. A really great family break and would love to return again sometime soon. Facebook

Aly Hodge

06/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We visited back in October 2015 for half term. Myself, my mum and my 3 kids enjoyed the spacious cottage we stayed in.We went on a few animal feed runs, which were really fun.The grounds boast many outdoor activities for the kids within the beautiful valley landscape. Facebook & Mumsnet

Rosemary Gatland

01/05/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We had a such a lovely time that we extended our stay. A beautiful relaxing place for adults and fantastic fun for little ones. Thomas loved feed run and train rides. He hasn’t stopped talking it his holiday home and we hope to return next year! Facebook

Matt Markall

21/04/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Couldn’t wish for more!! Thank you!! Fantastic place to spend your holidays!! Facebook

Karen Whitlock

15/04/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Our second holiday at Coombe Mill and once again it exceeded all expectations. Fiona and family are so welcoming. We stayed in a 4 bedroom lodge, Trebah, which was modern, clean and had everything we needed during our stay. The huge play room was very much appreciated. The daily feed runs were very popular with my girls and their confidence with the animals grew during the week. They loved helping feed the animals, searching for eggs and helping to drive the tractor. April was the perfect time to visit with 6 lambs being born during our stay. The daily train ride was very popular with my youngest. Both of them loved Activity Hour – so nice to have this free activity included in the week. Plenty of other things to do around the farm too – lovely play areas kept the kids occupied whilst my husband and I were able to chill out nearby. Plenty of other things to do close by too – Eden Project is only half an hour away. 
I would thoroughly recommend Coombe Mill to anyone with young children. We had such a fantastic time we have already booked for next year.
Facebook

Chloe Rowland

09/04/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We had a great week at Coombe Mill with our two little boys. It’s the perfect place for active kids who enjoy being outdoors and getting involved with feeding the farm animals. Definitely a holiday we would love to repeat. Facebook

Liz Collins

09/04/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Fantastic holiday destination, fun for all the family. Facebook

hngroen

26/03/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We just left Coombe Mill this morning (our third visit in as many years) and we’re already planning next year’s visit.
Both our girls (2 and 4) adore the place and, I must say, I feel the same way. The morning feed runs out on the tractor to feed the animals are fantastic and farmer Nick is a true joy and completely wonderful with the children; they were all desperate to “help” him drive the tractor (especially for the “fast bit” heading back to the car park at the end of the feed run).
The range of animals you see every morning is fantastic. How many places do you get to see pygmy goats, rare breed sheep, chickens, donkeys and fallow deer? Oh and let’s not forget the “noisy pigs” who make sure you don’t forget their breakfast in the morning.
There are plenty of other things to do on the farm too. I can’t recommend the wildlife trail highly enough. We decided to do this on the wettest, windiest day of the week and my littlest loved clambering up and down over the stiles and running around searching for the animals.
The play areas are fantastic too and it was a real struggle to get the children to leave the pirate ship and trampoline every time they got a chance to go and play down there (some days our 4 year old struggled to choose between the trampoline and the daily miniature train ride – which is definitely worth a visit with the littles).
For the last two visits we have stayed in Honeysuckle cottage and, at the risk of doing myself out of a holiday home, I would recommend it to anyone. The log burner is fantastic and so cosy on a chilly night, the super king size bed makes for ample stretching room and the two bathrooms means you rarely have to wait. (Pro tip: Make sure you commandeer the downstairs bathroom for yourself! The whirlpool bath is a thing of beauty and the pressure the shower kicks out will relax you after even the most active of days!)
Now, only 363 days until we get to go again … not that we’re counting or anything.
Mumsnet

Silviadep

29/01/17

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
We have been three times (1 winter, 2 summer). Perfect place to go with children. Fiona and Nick are very friendly and charming. We have been in three different properties. The cottages have toys for children and they are cozy. Great playgrounds, animals and atmosphere. Tripadvisor

October 2016

Thank you all so much for a truly wonderful week and thank you all for being so kind and welcoming. We all had an amazing week and there were too many highlights to count! I did a little photo collage for Grace’s nursery and we had so many magic moments  that it was difficult to choose which photos to put in (I’ve attached it)!  I’ve been really inspired to get outdoors a lot more with my two! Everything from the feed run to the activity hour was such an adventure for the children and we are so glad we came again. Also wanted to say thank you to Farmer Nick for Grace’s quail egg – she cooked it and a it with her dad as soon as she got it home!

See you again hopefully!

Julie Vertessy and family

Holiday photos from around the farm

 

September 2016 

Dear Fiona and Nick,
Just want to drop you a quick email to say how much we all enjoyed our stay last week. The kids loved themselves. Coombe Mill is a credit to you and we feel lucky to be able to come on holiday to share the farm with you. This was our second holiday with you and definitely wont be our last. We stopped in Heligan which was so nice. I will keep an eye on the blog to see when sally has the piglets so I can show the kids. My daughter loved Queenie in particular and has going on about her and how she is a ‘baby’.
Many thanks,
Nick, Laura Toby and Sophie
Sarah Louise McNeilly Leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Review
Hannah Nielen Groen leaves Coombe Mill a Farm Holiday Reviews

June 2015 – Gary Harper

 
Thank you all very much for what was a wonderful holiday this past week, we had an amazing time and the children enjoyed it immensely, so much so that they are both rushing round the garden being Farmer Nick!  You guys really have created something special and it was great to experience it.
 

June 2015 – Andy, Mary-Ann and Jack

Thanks for a fantastic time. We really missed the feed run this morning!  

 

May 2015 – Julie Vertessy

 
Just to say a big thank you for a simply wonderful week at Coombe Mill (Willow). You were all so welcoming and the cottage was lovely. 
The farm is beautiful and was just perfect for Grace. We have some wonderful memories from our week and touches like the fairy garden, the train ride and the mud kitchen make it such a special place – toddler heaven ! We really hope to return. The feed run was wonderful and Nick was just great with the children.
 

December 2014 – Susy Puckett

Learning and growing at Coombe Mill
Susy sent us a wonderful email which I shared on the Coombe Mill Blog here
 
“I would recommend anyone to visit you, and will be telling all my friends about it.  And as you know, we will be returning.
 
 

October 2014 – Ting Dalton

Fiona and her family really do take you into the Coombe Mill fold. Once you join, you’ll have a lifelong membership to something that’s pretty unique and wonderful. Read what Ting means in this statement in her full account of her stay on her blog 
 

July 2014 – Cassandra Radmore

 
I’d Just like to say that we made it back o.k, having just had a memorable, wonderful, experience of staying at the farm.
My daughter had a fantastic time driving the tractor and feeding the animals’, with farmer Nick and farmer Gill she was disappointed to leave, however so was Grandad.
We hope to see you again in the not so far distance future, you and your family made us feel very welcome!! 
Thank-you so much for all your help.  Take care. Cassandra & Grace
 
 

July 2014 – @TheBoyandMe

“There is a reason why we have stayed at Coombe Mill three times and have a fourth trip booked in August; it is one of the most magical places we’ve ever been to.”  Read all about staying at Heligan lodge and some helpful holiday tips for staying with us here. You can also catch up on previous visits from the same family through these links 2013 at Coombe Mill 2012 at Coombe Mill and again 2012

April 2014 – @The40yearold

This lovely family found us via twitter and wrote a wonderful review of their “Best family holiday ever” quite unprompted. You can read their post here

April 2014 – Fiona Lee

We all loved our week with you. Cillian is this morning asking to go on the tractor ride again! Both kids are full of chat about everything we did during the week. And what a great family you have. All of your kids are so genuinely lovely and friendly. 
Good luck getting the new Tree Roots cottage (mansion?!) up and running in time. It looks fab. Hot tub is a brilliant idea. 


February 2014 – Jennifer Slatter

We just wanted to thank you for another lovely stay at Coombe Mill and all that you do to make it such an amazing place to come and relax and be with the family. We love coming and you have made it so special!
Jennie, Steve and family


December 2013 – Lucy Barham

I just wanted to say THANK YOU so very much for a fantastic Christmas holiday we will remember for years to come.  It really was quite special and we were all sad to leave.  Thank you also for a very warm welcome and for baking Thomas the scrummiest dairy free birthday cake ever!
 
The boys have been telling their teachers about their special Christmas and William has encaptured his class mates with tales of Farmer Nicks “bumpy” tractor rides.
 
I have been quite smug in letting our friends know what a great Christmas break we all had :o) I will definitly be recommending you. 


October 2013 – Rachael Lucas

“A perfect Holiday” Read Rachael’s full review on her blog here Rachael is an author and her “Sealed with a Kiss” novel is a wonderful light hearted romantic holiday read and even features at holiday here at Coombe Mill! 


September 2013 – Suzanne Dennis

Just wanted to send you a quick message to say thank you for the wonderful holiday we just had at Coombe Mill.  It is like you have thought of everything to make the perfect holiday for families with young children!  The accommodation was ideal and safe.  We felt so relaxed in Honeysuckle and the children loved their play-den. 
 
And, of course we all loved the feed run and meeting all the animals.  It was so nice to see the boys getting up close the animals each morning.  I think we all enjoyed deer-hunting the most!  It is so nice be able to explore our grounds as we please too.  The boys loved doing a bit of fishing with your nets and giving the pigs their scraps for tea each evening.  And of course all the play parks were a big hit too!
 
We still have a lot of Cornwall left to see so there is no doubt we would use Coombe Mill as our base again and we will definitely recommend you to our friends. 


September 2013 Claire Goodhead 

Thank you for a wonderful holiday!! You have the most wonderful place at Coombe Mill.  The accommodation is beautiful and it was wonderful to have a play loft to amuse Alex while we relaxed downstairs. I’ve no doubt we’ll see you again for a holiday soon!


July 2013 – Sian To

LOVE your place. We’ve stayed in many places in Cornwall, yours is the best by far. Read more of Sian’s visit on her blog here 


June 2013 – Kirsty Hornblow

Our holiday at Coombe Mill was one to remember and we will be going back for more! Read Kirsty’s Coombe Mill review on her blog here 


June 2013 – Lisa Edmans

Just wanted to say thank you for lovely time last week, Louis really enjoyed it and hasn’t stopped asking about Farmer Nick!
Lisa, Marc and Louis Edmans.  


October 2012 – Elizabeth Mackenzie

For the last few years we’ve spent Easter and the October half term in various child friendly cottages in Devon, Cornwall or Dorset. Coombe Mill is the first venue that we are all keen to revisit. You have got it just right, the children absolutely loved it and when they’re happy we’re all happy. 


September 2012 – Sarah Lawless

We had an amazing week at Coombe Mill. We were so impressed by the accomodation and facilities, as well as loving meeting the animals. We are recommending you to all our friends and shall certainly return ourselves.


September 12 – Neil Richards

We have been coming here since 2007 when we were brought by friends: Genie, our silly spaniel was 10 months old. Genie is now 5 1/2 and has been back a further 5 times: we have already booked for next year when we will be bringing back the friends from 2007!
 
We really love it here; everything about it is so peaceful (I love it when complete darkness comes) with virtually no traffic noise. We nearly always stay in Eden and it’s like a second home for us now. The morning feed-runs are fantastic; I have been once with a friend’s little daughter (that was 2 years ago when she was 2 and she still talks about Farmer Nick and Houdini the little goat). I was raised in Cornwall, so am obviously slightly biased about my county, but for value for money, friendliness and access to great walking (also known as trying to tire Genie!), we would have to go a long way to beat Coombe Mill. 
 
 
Jane Hawkins leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

August 2012 – Jane & Neil Hawkins 

Finding a holiday that allows us, as parents a break, and keeps a 4 year old and a 12 year old happy is a challenge in itself, Coombe Mill delivered on all counts!

Read their full review on their blog  


August 2012 – Emma Frostie

Stacey is about to turn 10 and we have been coming since the very first day you took over and she was a baby in arms. Everything is always scruplesly clean – I wish we could come more often!


May 2012 – Corrine Lucas

Perfect…so much more than we expected! The welcoming nature of the hosts and the charming atmosphere is second to none. Cornwalls best kept secret!!


May 2012 – Nikki Black

Thank you once again for a wonderful holiday! never disappoints! The piglets were a definate highlight, and the lovely weather was a great bonus. Can’t wait to return again next year – as jess said, “but a year is SO LONG!”


April 2012 – Helen Henderson

I just wanted to let you know we had a great time staying in Honeysuckle last week – thank you!

 

Kirsty Sharrock leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

March 2012 – Kirsty Sharrock

Thank you for our lovely holiday escape to the country. 

Read the full review here: http://southwarkbelle.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/escape-to-country.html?spref=tw 

 

Liz Burton leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

March 2012 – Liz Burton

Thank you Fiona, Nick and Family, for our amazing holiday.  We’re already planning our return trip! 

Catch Liz’s full holiday review here http://missielizzie-meandmyshadow.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/coombe-mill-home-from-home.html


February 2012 – Andrew Tattersfield

We returned yesterday from another lovely holiday at Coombe Mill, many thanks for making this such an enjoyable break for my family.

 

Matthew Horne leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

November 2011 – Mathew Horne

We would like to thank you, Nick, Ted and everyone else at Coombe Mill for a wonderful week. The holiday completely lived up to our expectations – which were very high! Felix in particular loved every moment and since returning home has been asking to go back to the “holiday farm” and to see his favourite rabbit “Brownie”. I’m sure we’ll be back one day as I expect he and Sylvie wi’ll enjoy it even more when a little older and bigger.  


October 2011 – Lakey Family

Thank you guys so much for yet another fantastic holiday from the Odells and Lakeys. Been coming to Coombe now for over 16 years and always have such a wonderful relaxing time. Lovely to see how your family are consistently making improvements each year by adding new animals, accommodation etc. Your enthusiasm is the same as when you first took over which is brilliant. Coombe will always be a holiday favourite with us and we will be back!!! xx

Camille Cary -Elwes leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

October 2011 – Camilla Cary-Elwes

Just wanted to say a huge thank you for our two-night stay last week in the gorgeous Honeysuckle cottage. We had such a fabulous time. Really idyllic and such a wonderful place for our son Wilfred to explore. Have been raving about it to all the other parents I know! I hope we’ll be back next year for a full week.

 

Rachel Prentice leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

September 2011 – Rachel Prentice

A fantastic place to go for a family holiday. The children can really get involved and dont want to go home! My little boy loved it and cant wait to go back next year.

 

George Wright leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

September 2011 – George Wright 

Thank you for a great time, excellent place enjoyed by all. 

 

Sarah Shepherd leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

August 2011 – Sarah Shepherd

We had our best ever family holiday with you (so much better than Euro Disney!!). We’re hoping to come back again next year.


August 2011 – Sarah O’Sullivan

We returned on saturday from a weeks holiday at Coombe Mill. We all had a wonderful time, we have two children one pre school and one at school and they both enjoyed the holiday. Although we were busy with visiting animals, going to the play areas and meeting new people, it was a very relaxing holiday. We felt no urgency to dash anywhere or fill our days with days out as there was so much to do on the farm and our children were content with being there. Our youngest daughter loved the rabbits and the peacocks and the eldest thought farmer Nick was great. The feedrun was brilliant and Farmer Nick gave us lots of information and made a little girl very happy on her final day by being very aware that all she wanted to do was find a egg and he (very secretly) made sure she did – thankyou farmer Nick! We even used the key stage worksheets which our eldest loved – all very well thought out. We stayed in the riverside lodge, which was what it is advertised as – small and basic – but it met our needs perfectly. We were all sad to leave and hope to return next summer.

Darren Sawyer leaves Coombe Mill Family a Farm Holiday Reviews.

August 2011 – Darren Saywer 

My parents started visiting Coombe Mill back in the 60’s & 70’s and took my brother and I many times when we were younger. My wife and I have just returned from taking our own children there for the 5th time. Thanks for a brilliant week. The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves and are desperate to come back next year. Thanks to Farmer Ted too, who was brilliant on the feed runs! Also followed his advice and had a really good 4 hour journey home!  

 

Rosemarie Barton leaves a Coombe Mill Family Farm Holiday Reviews.

June 2011 – Rosemarrie Barton 

Have just got back from a lovely holiday at coombe mill, kids really enjoyed themselves. Beautiful setting, great fun with the animals and have booked to come again next year, thank you for making it a great holiday. 

June 2011 – Dawn Hennessy

Hi farmer Nick and Fiona, just wanted to say that we’re home from having the most wonderful and magical week at Coombe Mill. We were all very sad to be leaving but hope to see you all again very soon. Take care and all the best, the Hennessy family.